Maine Income Taxes and ME State Tax Forms

Maine Income Taxes and ME State Tax Forms

arrowWhere is my Maine State Tax Refund?
arrowWhere is my Federal Tax Refund?
arrow How Do I Pay My Maine State Income Tax?

arrowWhere is my Maine State Tax Refund?
arrowWhere is my Federal Tax Refund?
arrow How Do I Pay My Maine State Income Tax?

arrowStart Maine State Tax Return Only
arrowHow to file a Maine Tax Extension
arrowHow to file a Maine Tax Amendment

arrowStart Maine State Tax Return Only
arrowHow to file a Maine Tax Extension
arrowHow to file a Maine Tax Amendment

Start Federal and Maine State Tax Returns

Start Federal and Maine State Tax Returns

The efile.com tax software makes it easy for you to efile your state tax return and use the correct state tax forms. Prepare and efile your Maine state tax return (resident, nonresident, or part-year resident) and Federal tax return together or separately at efile.com. View the federal tax return filing requirements.

The efile.com tax software makes it easy for you to efile your state tax return and use the correct state tax forms. Prepare and efile your Maine state tax return (resident, nonresident, or part-year resident) and Federal tax return together or separately at efile.com. View the federal tax return filing requirements.

View all state tax return filing deadlines.

View all state tax return filing deadlines.

Find federal income tax return filing deadlines.

Find federal income tax return filing deadlines.

All of the following Maine state tax forms are supported by the efile.com software:

All of the following Maine state tax forms are supported by the efile.com software:

No form

No form

If you are unable to file your return by April 15, 2019, Maine allows an automatic six month extension of time to file. This extension is only effective if the ME state return is filed within six months (by October 15, 2019).

If you are unable to file your return by April 15, 2019, Maine allows an automatic six month extension of time to file. This extension is only effective if the ME state return is filed within six months (by October 15, 2019).

Requests for additional time to file must be submitted in writing prior to the expiration of the 6-month period. Generally, the total extension period cannot exceed 8 months.

Requests for additional time to file must be submitted in writing prior to the expiration of the 6-month period. Generally, the total extension period cannot exceed 8 months.

Please note that an extension to file your Maine tax return is NOT an extension for paying taxes owed. If you owe tax, you must pay at least 90% of that amount by the original due date for filing your return (April 15, 2019 for calendar-year filers) in order to avoid the penalty for late payment of tax. Complete and file Form 1040EXT-ME along with your ME tax payment.

Please note that an extension to file your Maine tax return is NOT an extension for paying taxes owed. If you owe tax, you must pay at least 90% of that amount by the original due date for filing your return (April 15, 2019 for calendar-year filers) in order to avoid the penalty for late payment of tax. Complete and file Form 1040EXT-ME along with your ME tax payment.

The remaining 10% must be paid when the return is filed on or before October 15, 2019 in order to avoid the failure-to-pay penalty. However, interest is charged on any tax paid after the original due date of your return. Remit your extension payment with the payment voucher by the original due date for filing your Maine return to: Maine Revenue Services, PO Box 9114, Augusta, ME 04332-9114. If you make a payment prior to filing your return, you must use a Long Form (1040ME) when you file your return.

The remaining 10% must be paid when the return is filed on or before October 15, 2019 in order to avoid the failure-to-pay penalty. However, interest is charged on any tax paid after the original due date of your return. Remit your extension payment with the payment voucher by the original due date for filing your Maine return to: Maine Revenue Services, PO Box 9114, Augusta, ME 04332-9114. If you make a payment prior to filing your return, you must use a Long Form (1040ME) when you file your return.

Automatic extension granted

Automatic extension granted

Amended Maine state tax returns can only be filed by mail; they cannot be efiled. Learn how to prepare and file a Maine tax amendment.

Amended Maine state tax returns can only be filed by mail; they cannot be efiled. Learn how to prepare and file a Maine tax amendment.

Download, fill out, print out, sign, and mail

Download, fill out, print out, sign, and mail

Download, fill out, print out, sign, and mail

Download, fill out, print out, sign, and mail

File electronically or early in the tax season to get your Maine state tax return refund faster.

File electronically or early in the tax season to get your Maine state tax return refund faster.

Check your Maine tax refund return status online.

Check your Maine tax refund return status online.

If your Maine state return was rejected, you will receive an error reject code. If you prepared and efiled your return on efile.com, we will provide you with an explanation of how to correct the error on your return. You may then resubmit your state return at no additional charge until it is accepted by the state.

If your Maine state return was rejected, you will receive an error reject code. If you prepared and efiled your return on efile.com, we will provide you with an explanation of how to correct the error on your return. You may then resubmit your state return at no additional charge until it is accepted by the state.

View a list of all Maine State efile Income Tax Return Error Reject Codes.

View a list of all Maine State efile Income Tax Return Error Reject Codes.

Individual income is taxed across four tax brackets.

Individual income is taxed across four tax brackets.

The tax brackets for single and married filing separately taxpayers are:

The tax brackets for single and married filing separately taxpayers are:

The tax brackets for taxpayers filing as head of household are:

The tax brackets for taxpayers filing as head of household are:

The tax brackets for married taxpayers filing joint returns or qualifying widowers are:

The tax brackets for married taxpayers filing joint returns or qualifying widowers are:

Maine has a general sales tax rate of 5.5%. The state also charges a 8% tax on prepared food and lodging and a 10% tax on short-term automobile rentals.

Maine has a general sales tax rate of 5.5%. The state also charges a 8% tax on prepared food and lodging and a 10% tax on short-term automobile rentals.

Maine offers specific exemptions for a number of different kinds of organizations and institutions, including schools, hospitals, churches, libraries, and churches.

Maine offers specific exemptions for a number of different kinds of organizations and institutions, including schools, hospitals, churches, libraries, and churches.

More information on Maine Sales Tax

More information on Maine Sales Tax

All personal property in Maine is taxable unless specifically exempted by statute. The administration of property taxes is handled by the local assessor in towns and cities.Though property taxes are assessed at the local level, municipal assessors are governed by state statutes that are administered by the Property Tax Division of Maine Revenue Services.

All personal property in Maine is taxable unless specifically exempted by statute. The administration of property taxes is handled by the local assessor in towns and cities.Though property taxes are assessed at the local level, municipal assessors are governed by state statutes that are administered by the Property Tax Division of Maine Revenue Services.

Property tax bills are issued by the municipality where the property is located on either an annual, semi-annual or quarterly basis. Due dates vary based upon the issue dates of the bills.

Property tax bills are issued by the municipality where the property is located on either an annual, semi-annual or quarterly basis. Due dates vary based upon the issue dates of the bills.

Eligible Maine residents who have owned homestead property in the state for at least a year and make the property they occupy their permanent residence on April 1 can receive a $10,000 exemption.

Eligible Maine residents who have owned homestead property in the state for at least a year and make the property they occupy their permanent residence on April 1 can receive a $10,000 exemption.

Maine has a blueberry tax return.

Maine has a blueberry tax return.

Commercial sellers of blueberries (a Maine staple) must keep records of their transactions and pay a “blueberry tax” of 1.5 cents per pound ($1.50 per 100 pounds) of the fruit they sold each season. Before November 1 of each year, sellers must pay the “blueberry tax,” as well as file a report (BLU, Blueberry Tax Return) containing the following items:

Commercial sellers of blueberries (a Maine staple) must keep records of their transactions and pay a “blueberry tax” of 1.5 cents per pound ($1.50 per 100 pounds) of the fruit they sold each season. Before November 1 of each year, sellers must pay the “blueberry tax,” as well as file a report (BLU, Blueberry Tax Return) containing the following items:

For more information, you can visit the website of The Maine Revenue Services.

For more information, you can visit the website of The Maine Revenue Services.

U.S. States:
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

U.S. territories and protectorates:
American Samoa | Guam | Northern Mariana Islands | Puerto Rico | U.S. Virgin Islands

U.S. States:
Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

U.S. territories and protectorates:
American Samoa | Guam | Northern Mariana Islands | Puerto Rico | U.S. Virgin Islands

Research & References of Maine Income Taxes and ME State Tax Forms|A&C Accounting And Tax Services
Source

Leave a Reply